She’s hit the ESCAPE button again!

Leave a comment Standard

escapeOK wait for it.

Yep it’s going to come and there is absolutely no doubt in my mind that it will.

What?

The ‘nay Sayers’ around me who will predictably say ‘there she goes again, another job, another idea that won’t amount to anything’

And it will…..

Seriously, will these people ever get what I get?

They never understand that if you don’t follow your heart and go after what you truly want you’ll always be stuck?

Sod them!

This is about me and what makes me happy and if I’d wanted your advice I would have asked in the first place, get it?

So now that’s done, I’ve said my piece. Onto why I am writing to you today.

It all starts today….

For weeks and weeks I had a feeling in the pit of my stomach that just won’t go away.  Actually to be frank it’s been there for years but I’ve made a bloody good job of denying its existence until today!

I sent my Manager an email this morning, saying that I wanted to go part-time and if that’s not possible I’d like to hand my notice in.

I’ve been waiting to do this for ages; the job just doesn’t ‘do it’ for me and to sit at my laptop all day everyday doing work that just turns my brain into mush, well there is no competition.

I can however, handle it for 20 hours a week a) because I’d like to keep earning and b) I know that the rest of the time I can focus 100% on my business. Whooopeeeeee!!

‘But what happens if they say you can’t go part-time?’  I hear you shout!

Then that’s what is meant to happen.  End of.

I know I can do this and I know I have it in me to work for myself. Sometimes that extra push towards it is needed, even if it doesn’t feel like it at the time.   I’ve asked I’ve put it out there. The ball is in their court and I can take it on the chin if required!

I want this you see.   I want and desire this change, I’ve wanted it for so long and there ain’t no time like the present!

So here goes ladies and gents, sometimes you got to just risk it or stay stuck in the mud of life.

How do you know when you know?

So how do you know when it’s time to quit that job or make that decision that you’ve been needing to make for what seems like an age?   What signs are there? And how do you deal with them?

Take time out

Meditate or do something that just leaves you alone with you.  Open your heart and really listen to how you feel when you think of this one thing in your life.  How does it make you feel? What emotions does it bring up?  Really take this time out, with no judgement or shame.

What do you want?

OK next ask yourself ‘what is the ideal scenario for me if I took this course of action? And what would your life look like once you made the decision and how would you feel?’

For me it would be that I would feel more freedom than I’ve ever felt before, I would be back in control of my life and be able to explore more exciting opportunities.   I would feel happy and the weight off my shoulders would feel wonderful.  I know that I truly believe that this is the right road for me and my life would be more joyful and fulfilled because of it.  My life will be doing what I should be doing and sharing this with you is the tip of the ice-burg!

Stand up for YOU

This is where you’ve got to put those shoulders back, take a deep breath and do what is necessary.  Taking action is the next step towards your new life.  Whatever action you need to take to get the ball rolling, do it. Do it today.

If you are fearful, good, this is telling you that it’s the right decision because when you push through fear and believe the life for you is ahead great things will come.  Yeah there will be some ups and downs along the way, but that’s all there to keep you growing and on the right track.

Stand up for yourself today and do what you got to do.

Like emailing your boss and telling them you want to go part-time or quit!

So who’s standing up for themselves today and hitting the ESCAPE button?

Leave a Reply

