Facing it head on and still moving..

Comments 10 Standard

Today, I did something that scared me.

I am selling all my stuff (well mainly giving it away) and moving in with my sister.  Moving into one room with all my stuff and Tommy of course!

Hardly ‘scary’ you’re probably thinking.   And maybe you’re right.

However, for me it is. In the sense that I am giving up everything I own, I have bought and I have ‘achieved’ and keeping what is essential to me.

It’s time to be less rigid about things and relax a little.   To not hang on to stuff that is just ‘stuff’ and to not create so much attachment to things that have no real meaning.

What is scary is the house I am moving into,  I’ve not even looked at! I don’t know if it will be ready in time for me to move into and if me and my sister, Jack and Tommy will all get on!  But if I sat back and worried about that or didn’t make a move, then I’d be stuck doing nothing!

It isn’t easy, even though I probably make it look like it is – stuff like this never is.    But I tend to never go down the easy route, My theory is if it’s easy then it’s probably not what I want anyway.

Today I saw a film about the Wisdom of  Tao Te Ching and it taught me that ‘things’ don’t matter.  That saying ‘I don’t know’ is  OK and I also found my favorite quote of all time –  ‘there is a time for everything, and everything has its time’ – wonderful don’t you think?

So today is the time to take some action, to do what I feel I need to do today, to trust and leave control at the door.

One step at a time mind you!

What can you face head on today that you know you should be doing?  What is stopping you?

Trust yourself.

 

Sign up and Join PaulasWork today, you’ll get a FREE Guide.

Your New LIFE – The First STEP‘ .

As a special bonus you can get it reviewed by myself too, all you need to do is send it back! – CLICK HERE 

10 thoughts on “Facing it head on and still moving..

  1. I think you’re incredibly brave for doing this Paula, you’re following your dreams and not letting fear hold you back. That’s amazing!

    I want to do some big things to grow my blog in August, which I have been putting off due to lack to time or motivation. There’s really not anything stopping me besides myself! Thank you for your inspiring words 🙂

    • Hey Michaela, its pushing through that fear that is the hardest part (who says its easy?). Right with you my friend. And thank you for commenting appreciate it 🙂

  2. Ahh!! I’m in the process of selling all my things as well. It’s been really interesting to let go of a billion ‘just in case’ items, or things that have sat around so long I barely even notice their presences– they just take up space. That is so brave of you to move into the unknown, literally with your house and your life- so excited to hear more about it!

    • Are you? Oh cool! It’s kind of liberating wouldn’t you say? Yeah i guess brave, but its the right thing for now can;t actually wait! thank you for your wonderful comment appreciate it 🙂

  3. Wow Paula! That is so gutsy! I’m so excited for you.

    I’ve been slowly merging toward a minimalist life, to eventually be able to travel almost fulltime, and the next step for my husband and I is downsizing to a one bed room.

    It’s amazing what ’emotional’ value we can attach to our ‘stuff’ when really the object is just a reminder of something from the past. And usually it is the past holding us back from moving forward.

    Onward and upward I say!!

    Good luck with your move!!

    Stace

    • Thanks Stacey! Yep it seems as we grow we realise that stuff is just that ‘stuff’! Wow travelling full time oooh look forward to hearing more about that.

      Oh yes the past is the past, I used to stay stuck for years at a time.

      Couldn’t agree more with you though. It’s good to have people to cheer me on!

      Thanks and speak soon 🙂

  4. I love your favorite comment, too. ’there is a time for everything, and everything has its time.’ I don’t know where you found it, but in case you didn’t know, it comes from the book of Ecclesiastes in the Bible. There was a popular song many years ago based on the poem it introduces. I believe you would love the whole poem. I could send it to you or you could read it at Ecclesiastes 3:1-8. It starts with a time to be born and ends with a time for peace. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing that thought.

    • Hey Katherine, no I didn’t know that and I would love for you to send it on to me 🙂 thanks for this appreciate your comment.

Leave a Reply

