Selling up..

Comments 2 Standard

My road to France is just beginning, one step at a time.

I’ve started to sell my furniture, just a few things I can manage without, and to be honest I could do without a lot of things if I really thought about it.  As I look around me I have lots of ‘stuff’ which means absolutely nothing to me but for some reason I can’t sell it, well not just yet.

It used to be a hell of a lot worse that this though, when I lived in London.  Back then I had more money than you could shake a stick at.  I spent money on clothes, shoes and ‘things’ just because I could.  I remember most Saturdays just going shopping.  How boring is that? Nowadays I hardly shop at all, except at the local pet store buying treats for Tommy or food shopping. So it’s time to sell up, as I plan to move in with my sister as a lodger until I go to France in March.

This is good for so many reasons, a) because I will save on so much money just giving her a few hundred pounds a month b) I won’t have the stress or worry about selling all my stuff just before I leave c) I will have company if I want it for an evening and so will Tommy and d) we will be living in a much quieter area with great dog walking routes instead of the usual litter infested areas I live in at the moment.

So what’s not to be glad about with this new adventure in front of me?  It’s funny the more I age the more I love new things, oh don’t get me wrong I’ve never been afraid of change, but now I absolutely relish it.  You see this is the first time in about 20 years I’ve actually lived in one place for more than a year.  I’ve moved so many times in my life that it became the norm.  I managed 3 years living here and it’s been great but now it’s time to move on and work towards the life that is meant for me.

Freedom is available now. Moving to France is a bit step towards that as my dream is to work for myself doing what I love, live where I want to live and have a home that makes me smile when I return to it.  I don’t want anything fancy or expensive just somewhere with land all around in a little village or town.

I know what you are thinking perhaps I am chasing something that doesn’t exist right?  Wrong, I already have that peace inside of me, at least I am working on it, I’ve never been happier than I am today.  And it’s all inside of me.  There is nothing external creating it this time around I’m not relying on someone or something to make me happy.  For the first time I realise it’s all an internal thing and I am thankful for finally realising this.

As I sit here in bed typing this, I wonder if there are other people out there who have the same desires as me.   But for some reason fear is preventing them making that leap of faith.  Or perhaps their head is telling them that it could never happen.  I sincerely hope that by reading my journey you can realise whatever dreams you may have can come true.   That the door is always open to your desires, but you have to really want to see it.  Opening your eyes can be the first step.    If you have a dream, no matter what it is, you need to start living for yourself and obeying your heart.  When you do this you will believe anything is possible.  I do.

2 thoughts on “Selling up..

Leave a Reply

