So, what do you do?

Comments 2 Standard

Aarrrrrggggggh!!!

There, I feel better….

If there is absolutely one question in the world that I absolutely try to avoid its this one.

Picture the scene…..

Person I have just met –  ‘so, what do you do’?

My reply, like most of the time –  ‘Ummm, eerrrrrr what don’t I do!’ – half laughing, half yawning…

Then I walk off.

It might seem rude but this opening line is always such a huge turn off for me, I don’t mean in a sexual way, but more in an intellectual way.  It’s the type of question that people ask when they haven’t a clue what to talk about and most people aren’t really interested in the answer anyway!

Actually that’s not the real reason to be honest with you, and I always am honest with you.  It’s because I have absolutely not one iota of an idea of what my answer is!  I never have done and when I have answered to try to explain what job I do I am the one who is more bored of my response than they are!

I have never known what I really wanted to do, never ever!  And yes you may cringe at this prospect but I am nearing to 40 years young and I still have absolutely no idea.  So there you have it, your answer. No idea!

It’s got to the stage now however, that I am not embarrassed by this because why should I be?  I think I’d be more embarrassed if I were to say I worked in an office 8 hours a day, doing the most mundane job in the world, being told what to do and I get paid for it! Great, that sounds like fun!  And yes, I have done that and I still am (hope my current boss does not read this) but that’s the way it is for now.

I think what I am saying is that it really doesn’t matter that you don’t know what you want to do or who you want to be.  As long as you are at peace with this and willing to grow as you try new things.  It’s the growing that is the ‘what I want to do’ for a living, I want to change, to do things I’ve never done before and explore.  None of this means you have to pack your bags and go off to a mosquito ridden place and ‘find yourself’, no you can do it at home.   I think we’ve forgotten to work out what we enjoy, who we really are and doing what we love.

We seem to go to school, learn what we are supposed to learn, perhaps go to university, try to get a job, work our way up, try to earn more money and so on and so on.  All for what? To live? I don’t think so!

I know what I love.  I love to read, I love to read books that help me grow and I love to write.   I love to write for you guys, the one’s who read my blog so that you too can believe that life does not have a plan and if you don’t do what everyone else does, so what?!  It’s your life not theirs.

I for one am happy and will keep doing what I love and see where that takes me….

2 thoughts on “So, what do you do?

  1. I really love your honest, vibrant voice! And your story is interesting! I will really enjoy to start following your journey! 😃

    • Awww thank you, I am a bit like that – i just can’t stand pussy footing around the subject esp about life. I feel for those who are afraid of everything. Bless you and ditto x

Leave a Reply

