The Vegetable Beginnings!

Leave a comment Standard

It was my birthday this week, May 21st and I turned the ripe old age of 38! Not very old at all but old enough to decide that I wanted to start growing my own vegetables. Plus I have just recently split with my boyfriend so I have a new lease of life! (but don’t tell him that!)

I used to do it as a kid, but you play at it then and get bored very quickly.  So when my mum asked me what I wanted for birthday I said ‘chip in on a vegetable trough’ which she gladly agreed to (I get my green fingers from her you see!).

Ta da! My Vegetable Trough (which arrive two weeks ago so I could get started asap – not one for waiting you see!)

Image

A quick visit to Homebase and bobs your uncle I come out beeming with my purchase of vegetables and compost (suitable for growing veg) and began the momentous task of sowing my seedlings which included:

  • Tomatoes & hanging basked ones (these are grown in pots to start off)
  • Rocket – Trough
  • Shallots – Trough
  • Beetroot – Trough
  • Rocket – Trough
  • Garlic – Trough
  • Spring Onions – Trough
  • Peppers – (sewn inside)
  • Hot Peppers – (sewn inside)

And there you have it all planted and sewn as per the instructions whilst my Patterdale Terrier Tommy watches on, with the odd jump up and grabbing of the trowel out of my hand kind of antics! (well he is only 6 months old bless him) – little git!

Today 2 weeks later and my seedlings are no longer seeds but little sprowters! Check these little babies out!

Toms
Image

Cress – oh i forgot Cress sorry about that!
Image

Peppers (hot ones)
Image

And the Pièce de résistance… drum roll please! My first sprowter’s in my trough. The Rocket! Wooop woop! This for some reason gives me most pleasure……. 🙂

Image

So this is where I am at on the 24th May at 7.45am (why am I up this early on my day off? Blame the doggie!!)

I am really excited at watching my veggies grow and hope you will join me on this journey, I am no expert at this malarky but my enthusiasm outweighs my expertise!  I’ve always dreamed of a house in the country with some chickens, a dog and my own home grown food…… oh and I’d love a house with veranda with a rocking chair or two……….yep that’s me all sewn up 🙂

Till next time my little green-fingered friends……….

Leave a Reply

